Daily Archives: November 13, 2011

Spanish Chicken Stew-ish

As the weather closes in, there’s nothing more tempting than a bowl of stew.  Sadly, stew is one of the few things I simply cannot eat – love it but my tummy doesn’t.  My way around this is to make stew-ish.   I use a better cut of meat than you usually would with stews and so I don’t have to cook it as long.  That makes all the difference for me.   If you have no problem with stews, replace the chunks of chicken breast with thighs.

I like the reminder of holidays spent in Spain and Portugal so one of my favourite ingredients is a little bit of fresh chorizo sausage.  I remove the casing and divide each sausage into three pieces before adding.   To make this even quicker, I use canned beans.  You can replace these with rice, but I like the added fibre and variety of using beans.  Tonight I used two cans of beans: flagolet and adzuki beans.

Spanish Chicken Stewish:

For each person, you will need:

1 small can of beans

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1 chorizo sausage
  • 1/2 can of stewed tomatos (I also added half a dozen quartered tomatoes because I had them and didn’t want them to go off)
  • 1 onion cut into 8ths
  • 1 can of water
  1. Put all of the ingredients in a slow cooker.  Mix well.  Cover and set on medium.
  2. Stir occasionally and add more water if needed.
  3. Cook for an hour then set to low.   Serve hot.