Aside

Beef, Carrot, and Barley Soup

I occasionally participate in BzzFeed campaigns to promote products that I really like and recommend.   At the moment, I’m participating in one for Knorr jellied Stocks.   This is a product I use regularly and with winter just around the corner, I thought I’d make my favourite childhood soup and share it with you.  I replace about 1/2 the meat that my mom used to use with 1 packet of Knorr beef stock.  This makes it a healthier, more environmentally friendly dish without requiring any compromise on taste.

My mom used to make the whole thing in one go, but I have trouble with stewed meats, so I’ve had to modify how I prepare them.   If you don’t, go ahead and just cut up the meat and add it (along with the bone/marrow) to your slow cooker without pre-baking.

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 thick slices of beef calf (including marrow).
  • 1 large onion, chopped.
  • 3 large carrots, chopped.
  • 1 or two Knorr Beef Stock jelly packs.
  • 1 cup of barley
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped.
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard.
  • 2 bay leaves.
  • 1 teaspoon each marjoram and thyme.

Directions

  1. Roast the meat in a shallow dish until cooked through (meat will pull away from the bone).
  2. Remove from the oven and cut into smallish, bite sized pieces. 
  3. Add hot water to the roasting dish and scrape away the juices then pour the lot into your slow cooker. 
  4. Add all the other ingredients except the barley to the slow cooker and set on low. Cover with water.
  5. Forget about it for a few hours.
  6. An hour before serving, add the barley and set to medium.
  7. Serve hot.

Absolutely perfect for apres ski dinner.

One response to “Beef, Carrot, and Barley Soup

  1. Hi Audrey – This soup looks awesome! We tend to make lots of soups this time of year too. I find barley to be great alternative to pasta to use in a soup.

Leave a Reply

