Fusion Pad Thai

I’m in the mood for Asian food tonight.   I was going to make proper pad thai, but I’m out of Tamarind paste.   So fusion it is 😉

I’m making my broth now:

  1. Bring it all to a boil in a litre or so of water (I’m cooking for just two people so that’s how much I used).  Let it simmer for 5-10 minutes (and allow to cool if you want to serve dinner in only a few hours. )
  2. Sieve the broth to remove the excess of spices and return to a boil.
  3. Quickly poach the vegetables that you want to use (I’ll be using dried mushrooms so I’ll poach those separately, a bit longer, than the julienned carrot and celery I also want).   Set the veg aside but keep the broth on the heat.
  4. Poach your noodles next.   If you are not adding meat, divide the noodles into servings and top with your veg.
  5. If you are serving it with meat (I’m using a smallish piece of sirloin I had in the freezer – wouldn’t be great as steak but will work a treat here.    I’ve had it thawing in a marinade of ginger, horseradish, rice vinegar, tomato paste, and oil most of the day), thinly slice the meat and add it to the broth.   If you wish, you can add some of the marinade to make the broth more intense.  Cook very briefly (it’s thinly sliced, so even poultry should be okay after a minute or two).
  6. Serve over the noodles and veg and share the broth between the bowls.   Finally, top with finely chopped fresh coriander and, if desired, peanuts.
I forgot to get a picture when I served it, but I’d made enough that I had leftovers for lunch yesterday and got a picture of that 😉
One response to “Fusion Pad Thai

  1. You need to put pictures among with these recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

