Homemade yoghurt

When I was a kid, my mom used to make yogurt at home.   I hated the stuff and always wished she would just buy “normal” yogurt.

Fast-forward a few years and I’ve learnt a few things.    First among them, mom used UHT (long conservation) milk to make the yogurts.   A drop of the stuff in a cup of coffee is enough to play havoc with my tummy.   Second, I like a nice firm yogurt.   So here is my recipe (requires a yogurt maker)

  • 1 litre of whole milk
  • 1/2 cup dried skim milk (this makes the yogurts firm.   The more you use, the firmer your yogurts will be.  You can omit at will).
  • 1 individual sized bio-active yogurt.
  1. Bring the whole milk and skim milk powder to a boil then cover and allow to cool to room temperature.
  2. Mix in the yogurt.
  3. Pour through a sieve and then divide the liquid into your jars. If desired, you can add a tablespoon of jam at this point.
  4. I use a 15-hour fermentation cycle on my machine.   Once it’s done, I allow the yogurts to cool and refrigerate.
Leave a Reply

