Grocery List (July 3 2011)

I think that, like most non-vegetarians, I plan most meals around a portion of meat or a substitute (fish, generally, but sometimes I do make vegetarian options).

For this week’s meals, I’ve purchased:

  • Sea bass (3 whole fish)
  • Prawns (pre-cooked)
  • Lean beef mince (I’ve frozen the 2.5kg pack in 10 equal portions)

In addition, I’ve purchased the following vegetables:

  • Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Asparagus
  • Baby spinach
  • Onions
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Potatoes
  • Mushrooms

Finally, I purchased a supply of fruit for snack and dessert purposes:

  • Cherries
  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • raspberries
  • peaches
  • apricots

The season is very short here so I try to make the most of it.    I have assorted grains, pulses, and beans in my larder already; and some good quality oils and vinegars.   I also have a well stocked spice rack.

Total cost of this week’s shop was £103.   I’m hoping that out of that, I will get two weeks worth of meals.

 

 

Leave a Reply

