Bananas Foster Oatmeal Bread

I have a bunch of bananas that are going off on my counter – and I have no room in the freezer.

What I want is a recipe that will use up as many bananas as possible, preferably without the guilt that comes with adding lots of sugar or fat.    So I started from this recipe for Banana Oatmeal Bread.    From the get-go, I know that I want far less sugar in this loaf and I want it to be something a bit special.

So I’m going to modify this recipe somewhat.   I’m going to eliminate virtually all of the sugar except for 1 tablespoon of sugar that I’ll add to the butter/banana/egg mix to help with the creaming process and two tablespoons of dark brown sugar that I’ll mix with a tablespoon of rum, some ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon.    I’ll pour that in the bottom of my loaf tin and then add my batter over it.

I wanted more fibre in this loaf, so I’ve used self-raising flour and halved the amount of baking powder.   I also added 2 tablespoons of wheat bran along with the oatmeal.   I used only 50g of butter.

I’ve skipped the nuts because they would add more fat that I actually want in this dish.

In the end, there’s less than 3 tablespoons of added sugar to this loaf and only 55g of butter (including what I used to grease the loaf tin).   By putting the rum/sugar/spice mix in the bottom, I’ve ensured that it will caramelize and the loaf will still be satisfyingly sweet and have a real treat quality to it – but without a whole lot of empty calories.

Here is the modified version:

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 50g  butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup mashed banana (approximately 2 bananas)
  • 1 cup self-raising whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned type oatmeal (do not use instant or quick cooking!)
  • 3 tablespoons of wheat bran
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

For the glaze:

  • 2 tablespoons rum
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon melted butter
  • Ground ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg to taste
  • 2 tablespoons of dark sugar.
  • Cream butter, sugar, egg and bananas.
  • Add baking powder and salt, mix, then add oatmeal & flour.
  • Add the nuts.
  • In a separate bowl, mix all of the glaze ingredients and pour into the loaf tin.
  • Pour in the batter slowly.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Check middle with a toothpick, if toothpick comes out clean, it is done.
  • Take out of oven and turn out of pan.
  • Slice and serve.
Notes:
  • This is quite a dense loaf.   I’m having it for breakfast on Day 2 and it’s quite hearty.   I’ve toasted two slices of it and am having it with a touch of butter and it’s as filling as my usual bowl of porridge.
  • If I was making it again, I might double the recipe as it’s only about half the height of a regular loaf. 
  • If you don’t want a lighter version, you might prefer to use 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 plain flour.   

4 responses to “Bananas Foster Oatmeal Bread

  1. By the way, as long as I had the oven going, I took the opportunity to pop in a few potatoes and a large sweet potato. Once roasted, these can serve as a base for other recipes. Thai crab cakes anyone?

  2. Pingback: Munchie Mondays… | The Redneck Princess

  3. Pingback: Munchie Mondays~Cheese and Onion Tea Biscuits | The Redneck Princess

  4. Pingback: Your Questions About Banana Bread Calories

Leave a Reply

